North Carolina Uber Accidents Attorney
In 2015, Governor Pat McCrory signed a bill regulating “ridesharing” services such as Uber, Lyft, and Sidecar. The law required these companies to perform background checks on drivers, pay a state permit fee, and for drivers to have insurance during and between rides.
While ridesharing services provide an extremely valuable form of transportation (and income) for North Carolinians, the motor vehicles their drivers use are just as capable of getting into accidents as any other automobile. Crashes involving ridesharing vehicles can be far more complicated than traditional passenger vehicle collisions, which is why it is usually in any victim’s best interest to immediately contact Need an Injury Lawyer North Carolina.
North Carolina Ridesharing Laws
North Carolina state law does require ridesharing drivers to maintain automobile insurance policies with slightly higher limits than what is required for most ordinary drivers. An Uber or Lyft driver must have a policy providing $50,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person and $100,000 per accident.
Additionally, Uber proclaims that it has a $1.5 million insurance policy that applies during the period after a driver accepts a passenger until the time he or she is dropped off. While these amounts certainly sound adequate, it is important to keep in mind that the higher limits does not necessarily mean that an insurance company is going to automatically give a big paycheck to a victim.
Despite these higher limits, it is not uncommon for a ridesharing to attempt to deny liability by claiming that its driver is an “independent contractor.” Need an Injury Lawyer North Carolina understands the complexity of these types of claims and knows how to hold all negligent parties accountable.
Accidents involving Uber or other ridesharing vehicles can be the result of many of the same causes of traditional passenger vehicle crashes. Since Uber relies on drivers and passengers largely using smartphone applications, distracted driving is a very common cause, but some drivers may have been driving recklessly or possibly operating while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
Victims should also be sure not to speak to anybody about their accidents until they have legal counsel. North Carolina is a “pure contributory negligence” state, which means that a person will be unable to obtain any damages from a negligent party if he or she is deemed to be at fault in any way (even just a single percent) to his or her injuries.
North Carolina Uber Accident Lawyer
Did you suffer severe injuries or was your loved one killed in a crash caused by an Uber or other ridesharing driver in North Carolina? You will want to contact Need an Injury Lawyer North Carolina as soon as possible.
Our firm is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week to answer your phone call and help provide legal guidance. We handle cases on a contingency fee basis, so you will not be assessed any fees unless you receive a financial award. Need an Injury Lawyer North Carolina will provide an honest and thorough evaluation of your case so you can fully understand all of your legal options.
Our firm represents residents and visitors i communities throughout Onslow County, Iredell County, Johnston County, Davidson County, Pitt County, Mecklenburg County, Craven County, Wake County, Henderson County, Guilford County, Brunswick County, Forsyth County, Harnett County, Cumberland County, Wayne County, Durham County, Robeson County, Buncombe County, Orange County, Gaston County, Rowan County, New Hanover County, Randolph County, Union County, Alamance County, Cabarrus County, and Catawba County.